Opinion

FINLAYSON: COVID-related job losses concentrated in urban areas… especially Metro Vancouver

The biggest job losses, in absolute terms, have been in Metro Vancouver

  • Sep 30, 2020

OUR VIEW: Surrey mask scraps can be avoided

You know, be considerate. Now, isn’t that a novel idea?

  • Oct 1, 2020

OPINION: Stop telling students to study STEM over humanities for post-COVID world

‘Humanities play an essential role in aspects of global competence which have not been the focus of the STEM’

ZYTARUK: Mandatory fees make it hard on post-secondary students

Students are forced to pay a scandalous heap of fees on top of their tuition

  • Sep 28, 2020

OUR VIEW: Way too many Surrey COVID-19 cases

We all need to take this threat seriously

  • Sep 23, 2020

OPINION: It’s Time for Surrey to be Heard

Which party will listen to Surrey voters?

  • Sep 23, 2020
video
Testing delays a concern for controlling virus: Tam
B.C.'s top doctor says now is not the time for social gatherings
RCMP policy on masks for Sikhs will change, Blair promises
Alberta horse owners struggle with disease

LETTERS: Special community members left lasting legacy

Double loss with passing of Roy Strang and Helen Fosnaugh will be felt

  • Sep 24, 2020

LETTERS: Not an expression to be used in 2020

Term’s use shows lack of respect for the Indigenous peoples of Canada

  • Sep 24, 2020

COLUMN: Hiding our true identities in the age of masks

Does the anonymity that results from wearing a mask give some more reason to be rude?

ZYTARUK: Public health, economic health, and the mixed messages in between

If you sometimes feel like you’re running Hell’s Gate on a pool noodle, you’re not alone

FINLAYSON: A Labour Day snapshot of the B.C. job market

From following health advice and ‘doing no harm,’ to not hiking fees – one business expert has a number of suggestions

  • Sep 10, 2020

OPINION: Let’s celebrate working people — and work together for a fairer B.C.

‘This year has reminded us all of just how utterly and completely our province relies on working people’

  • Sep 6, 2020

OUR VIEW: Surrey needs to get tough on COVIDiots

We all share a stake in helping humanity turn the page on this coronavirus. It’s a team effort

  • Aug 19, 2020

How to help your child cope with the transition back to school during COVID-19

Experts say listening and validating your child’s fears is key

FINLAYSON: Next 6-12 months not the time for government to hike taxes

From following health advice and ‘doing no harm,’ to not hiking fees – one business expert has a number of suggestions

  • Aug 17, 2020

OUR VIEW: Wards for Surrey worth a hard look

Ward system divvies up city into neighbourhoods with a council member representing an electoral region

  • Aug 12, 2020

Reforming the PST can be a powerful tool to get people, businesses back to work long-term

Stronger tomorrow plan offers blueprint for job-rich recovery, says Jeff Zweig and Greg D’Avignon

  • Aug 5, 2020

OUR VIEW: Surrey train tragedy a safety reminder for us all

Summer typically brings cautionary tales

  • Aug 5, 2020

OUR VIEW: Call it like it is, Surrey

When did a budget shortfall, or deficit, become an ‘unfavourable variance in program revenues?’

  • Jul 29, 2020

OUR VIEW: Surrey, be COVID-19 wise

Now’s especially not the time for careless, unwise behaviour

  • Jul 22, 2020