Opinion

COLUMN: B.C.’s labour minister should look at COVID-19 financial carnage amid minimum wage increase

The timing couldn’t be worse for any government decision that drives up costs for business, writes Jock Finlayson

  • May 28, 2020

COLUMN: Canada needs to remember rural communities as thoughts turn to pandemic recovery

Small towns often rely on tourism, which has been decimated by COVID-19

  • May 28, 2020

OUR VIEW: Let’s hear why the Safe Surrey Coalition voted as they did

Perhaps they have sound arguments for voting to approve this expenditure right now. Too bad they didn’t bother to express them

  • May 27, 2020

GUEST COLUMN: B.C. COVID-19 survey brings answers closer

275,000 responses so far, broader health information helps

  • May 22, 2020

OUR VIEW: Kindness does wonders for mental health

Who can honestly say this pandemic hasn’t messed with their head? But there are ways to fight the malaise

  • May 20, 2020

LETTER: KSM mine underwent ‘comprehensive, transparent peer-reviewed environmental assessment’

Seabridge Gold’s KSM project did incorporate independent and peer-reviewed science

  • May 19, 2020
video
Trudeau on U.S. unrest: 'Racism is real'
Additional $650M pledged in COVID-19 aid for Indigenous communities
Bear vs rabbit caught on camera near Whistler
Dr. Bonnie Henry given a Gitxsan name

Our species to save: Use this time to learn more about Canada’s endangered animals

We share our country with about 80,000 known wild species, 800 of them are endangered

  • May 15, 2020

Cloverdale Strong: our town in a pandemic

Shuttered businesses dot Cloverdale’s empty streets

  • May 14, 2020

Help the ‘Cloverdale Reporter’ continue its mission to provide trusted local news

Facing changes together: Your community, your journalists

  • May 14, 2020

COLUMN: A word of thanks to the other frontline workers

Mental health professionals helping deal with emotional fallout of a global pandemic

OPINION: Should BC Rugby change the structure of their season?

Disjointed game schedule adds to player safety issues and participation burnout

OUR VIEW: Is it really worth the risk to re-open Surrey’s schools so soon?

It’s patently absurd to expect small children to understand, let alone adhere to, social distancing when so many adults have proven themselves incapable of doing the same

  • May 13, 2020

ZYTARUK: Spanish flu offers good lesson in re-opening during pandemic

Governments are under immense pressure to ease restrictions, considering their inability to control the crowd that’s already liberated itself from the ravages of common sense

  • May 13, 2020

COLUMN: Residents should explore B.C. to help tourism industry amid COVID-19

Jock Finlayson is executive vice president and chief policy officer of the Business Council of BC

  • May 11, 2020

OUR VIEW: Surrey sign snakes playing dirty pool

Somebody has been stealing Keep the RCMP in Surrey signs from front lawns. Let’s hope these culprits are caught

  • May 6, 2020

COLUMN: From flattening the COVID-19 curve to Team B.C. recovery

B.C. business leaders say they’re ready to restart economy

  • Apr 30, 2020

LETTER: London Drugs president supports local news

‘We are continuing our commitment to print our flyers and distribute them through community newspapers’

  • Apr 30, 2020

COLUMN: Coronavirus is a thief, but it can’t steal our souls

‘Echo pandemic’ will likely be seen in the ongoing effect on people’s mental health

  • Apr 30, 2020

OUR VIEW: We can’t drop our guard now, Surrey

We need to work for it, work hard. Earn it.

  • Apr 29, 2020