Skip to content

Semiahmoo Peninsula students awarded $1,000 scholarships

Sir John A. Macdonald scholarships for student leaders
Students from the Semiahmoo Peninsula pose with South Surrey-White Rock MP Kerry-Lynne Findlay, who awarded them with $1,000 Sir John A. Macdonald scholarships.

Eight students from the Semiahmoo Peninsula have been awarded $1,000 scholarships by the South Surrey-White Rock Conservative Association.

Graduating students from high schools on the Peninsula were named recipients of the Sir John A. Macdonald Leadership Award, presented by South Surrey-White Rock MP Kerry-Lynne Findlay on June 29.

Students awarded include Lily Cox and Kaylee Higgs from Semiahmoo Secondary; Simon Kurono, Ryan MacDonald and Ella Vick from Elgin Park Secondary; Liam Curran from Earl Marriott Secondary; Larissa Lee from Grandview Heights Secondary and Laurel Tews from White Rock Christian Academy.

All eight students graduated from high school this year.

For students who exhibit leadership qualities and educational excellence, the Sir John A. Macdonald scholarship was established in 2004 by local conservatives.

About the Author: Peace Arch News Staff

Read more