Surrey’s all-stars selected

High school basketball games tonight at Enver Creek

Surrey’s best Grade 12 basketball players will be at Enver Creek Secondary tomorrow night (Friday) for the annual Surrey RCMP/Winner’s Circle All-star Classic.

Eighteen players have been selected for the girls game, which tips off at 6 p.m., with 19 boys taking to the floor for their contest at 7:30 p.m.

The All-star Classic is in its seventh season, and in addition to hosting the two games, the organizing committee will recognize the first-team all-stars from last January’s Surrey RCMP Classic tournament and announce the scholarship recipients at half time of the boys game.

All players will receive a shirt and trophy in recognition of their successful season of high school basketball.

RCMP Classic tournament MVP (Most Valuable Player) Parvez Jhaj of the  champion Enver Creek Cougars leads a list of prominent players competing in the all-star contest. First-team all-stars from the all-Surrey competition competing tonight will be Marc Mincieli and Vikash Pillai of Enver Creek, Mitch Robertson of the Clayton Heights Night Riders and Gagan Sahota of the Tamanawis Wildcats.

RCMP tournament second-team all-stars chosen for the All-Star Classic include Harpinder Grewal of the Fleetwood Park Dragons, Diljot Pannu of the Queen Elizabeth Royals and Colin Soares of the Pacific Academy Breakers.

Other participants are Jacob Andreou and Rider Saskin (Southridge Storm), Bhupinder Bhullar  (L.A. Matheson Mustangs), Brodie Cameron (Clayton Heights), Avi Grewal (Fleetwood Park), Kelepi Gucake (Regent Christian Academy), Liam Murphy-Burke (Semiahmoo Totems), R.J. Manguino (Princess Margaret Lions), Gurpaul Mann (Queen Elizabeth), Satvir Sahota (Tamanawis) and Perry Samra (Enver Creek).

Five members of the Holy Cross Crusaders, a team which placed third at last month’s Senior AA provincial championship tournament in Kamloops, lead the list of participants in the girls game.

Tessa Beauchamp was the MVP at the Surrey Firefighters Goodwill Classic, while Crusaders teammate Jessica Villadiego earned Top Defensive Player honours. Other Holy Cross players selected to play tomorrow are Cecile Ehman, Claudia Garzitto and Jeanneine Yngresso.

Cara Bagry, the Most Inspirational Player award winner at the Firefighters tournament, and teammate Michelle Clarke will represent the Lord Tweedsmuir Panthers in the contest.

Jasmine Sidhu – winner of the Firefighters three-point shooting competition – is one of three players from the Panorama Ridge Thunder chosen, the others being Anike Constantinescu and Tessa Janzen.

Completing the girls roster are Brianna Beamish (Earl Marriott Mariners), Sandy Hsu, Madeline Spangehl and Stacey Graham (Elgin Park Orcas), Gillian Russell (Enver Creek), Bleen Sharma (Fleetwood Park), Raman Johal (Tamanawis) and Lucia Neliba (Queen Elizabeth).